

# LIBER EXECUTIVE BOARD APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD, JUNE 2016 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

In accordance with the Statutes and the Rules and Regulations of the LIBER (*Stichting*) Foundation, appointments are due to be made at the Meeting of Participants in the Paasitorni Congress, Helsinki, Finland, on Thursday 30 June 2016, for the following vacancies on the LIBER Executive Board.

#### 1. APPOINTMENTS:

LIBER Treasurer Board Members (2)

## **LIBER Treasurer**

Since LIBER is a *Stichting* under Dutch law from 2009, and since its Office is based in The Hague, the LIBER Executive Board has always considered it to be very useful to have a LIBER Treasurer with experience of Dutch legal requirements, employment law and conditions of service. The LIBER Executive Board has therefore invited Drs Anja Smit, Utrecht University Library, The Netherlands, who is a current member of the LIBER Executive Board, to stand for appointment as LIBER Treasurer at the Meeting of Participants in June 2016.

*Note for information:* In line with LIBER's Statutes, on completion of two terms as Treasurer, the post-holder is eligible to stand for appointment for another position on the Executive Board.

## **Board Members (2)**

#### **Board Member (1)**

Under Article 5.3 (b) of the LIBER Statutes, a Board member serving as Treasurer can after completing two terms as Treasurer thereupon be appointed to another position on the Executive Board for a period of two years.

Dr Matthijs Van Otegem, who has completed to two terms as LIBER Treasurer, is eligible to stand for appointment under Article 5.3 (b).

## **Board Member (1)**

There is one (1) further vacancy on the Executive Board.

## 2. REAPPOINTMENTS:

The following (6) Executive Board members have completed terms of office. They are eligible for re-appointment for a further term of two years, and are willing to stand for re-appointment:

President: Ms Kristiina Hormia- Poutanen, National Library of Finland

Vice-President: Ms Jeannette Frey, BCU, Switzerland

**Board Members:** 

Dr Wolfram Horstmann, Göttingen State and University Library, Germany

Mr Wilhelm Widmark, Stockholm University Library, Sweden Dr Martin Hallik, University of Tartu, Estonia Mr Martin Svoboda, National Technical Library, Czech Republic

## **Open Nomination Process**

Appointments to the LIBER Executive Board are open to nominated candidates in all LIBER Libraries in the <u>Institution</u> and <u>Organisation</u> categories. Nominated candidates must be from current LIBER Libraries. Candidates may be proposed by the nominee's home library or by another LIBER Library. The consent of the candidate should be obtained by the proposer in all cases before a nomination is submitted. It is also open to candidates from current LIBER Libraries to nominate themselves with the support of a proposer.

Please note that the LIBER Executive Board welcomes candidate nominations from libraries in countries in all parts of Europe and from younger candidates.

Completed nominations on the Nomination Form should be returned to the Secretary-General no later than two calendar weeks before the opening of the Meeting of Participants on Thursday 30 June 2016 (i.e. by Thursday 16 June 2016). Nominations should be addressed to: Dr Ann Matheson, Secretary-General, by email (a.matheson@tinyworld.co.uk).

## **Closing Date for Nominations**

The closing date for nominations is **Thursday 16 June 2016**.

## **Proxy Voting**

Any LIBER Participant not able to be present at the Meeting of Participants on Thursday 30 June 2016 may delegate its right to vote to a member of staff or to another member acting as proxy or to the Chair of the Meeting of Participants acting as proxy. Any LIBER Participant wishing to delegate its vote should complete the proxy voting form, which is circulated in the March 2016 and May 2016 mailings, and return it to the LIBER Office at liber@kb.nl. Please note that to be valid proxy forms must be received by the LIBER Office **no later than Wednesday 29 June 2016.** 

If you have any questions about the appointments at the 2016 Meeting of Participants, or if you would like further information, please get in touch (<u>a.matheson@tinyworld.co.uk</u>) and I shall be glad to reply.

Ann Matheson Secretary-General

March 2016