

CONFERRAL OF LIBER HONORARY STATUS ON MR HANS GELEIJNSE, FORMER LIBER PRESIDENT LIBER ANNUAL CONFERENCE, HELSINKI 2016

As explained in recent LIBER Mailings, with the approval of LIBER Participants, LIBER Honorary Status will be conferred on Mr Hans Geleijnse, former President of LIBER, for his outstanding contribution to the work of LIBER.

The approval of LIBER Participants for the conferring of Honorary Status on Mr Geleijnse will take place at the Opening of the Meeting of Participants during the LIBER Annual Conference in Helsinki in 2016 on Wednesday 29 June 2016. The official conferral will take place during the Meeting of Participants on Thursday 30 June 2016.

The Citation is given below:

Mr Hans Geleijnse, formerly of Tilburg University Library and the European University Institute Library, Florence, was Vice-President of LIBER from 2003 to 2006, and President of LIBER from 2007 to 2010.

During his term as President, in line with the agreement of LIBER members and the then Executive Board, Mr Geleijnse steered the transition of LIBER from its previous home in the Royal Library, Copenhagen, to The Hague, in order to bring the LIBER Secretariat into closer association with those of other similar organisations already located in The Hague. He oversaw all the preparations for the transfer, including the transition of LIBER from an Association set up under the Swiss Civil Code to a Stichting (Foundation) under Dutch law. He was much involved in the professionalisation of LIBER and, specifically, with the preparations for LIBER to employ an Executive Director for the first time. LIBER's first Executive Director was recruited during Mr Geleijnse's term in office.

Mr Geleijnse has also had a particular interest in LIBER's potential role in leadership programmes for staff in European research libraries. After the end of his term on the Executive Board, he has continued to be actively involved in the implementation of LIBER's very successful leadership programmes, in association with Mr Julien Roche, Chair of the Steering Committee on Reshaping the Research Library, up to summer 2015.

Kristiina Hormia-Poutanen, President Ann Matheson, Secretary-General

May 2016