

LIBER EXECUTIVE BOARD APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD, JULY 2018 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

In accordance with the Statutes and the Rules and Regulations of the LIBER (*Stichting*) Foundation, appointments are due to be made at the Meeting of Participants (ie Annual General Meeting) in the LILLIAD Learning Center Innovation, University of Lille, Lille, France, on Thursday 5 July 2018, for the following vacancies on the LIBER Executive Board.

APPOINTMENTS:

(1) BOARD MEMBER

REAPPOINTMENTS:

The following (6) Executive Board members will have completed terms of office by July 2018. They are eligible for re-appointment for a further term of two years and are willing to stand for re-appointment:

Board Members:

Dr Wolfram Horstmann, Göttingen State and University Library, Germany

Dr Martin Hallik, University of Tartu, Estonia

Mr Martin Svoboda, National Technical Library, Czech Republic

Drs Anja Smit, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Dr Matthijs van Otegem, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Dr Giannis Tsakonas, University of Patras, Greece

Nomination Process

Appointments to the LIBER Executive Board are open to nominated candidates in all LIBER Libraries in the <u>Institution</u> and <u>Organisation</u> categories. Nominated candidates must be from current LIBER Libraries. Candidates may be proposed by the nominee's home library or by another LIBER Library. The consent of the candidate should be obtained by the proposer in all cases before a nomination is submitted. It is also open to candidates from current LIBER Libraries to nominate themselves with the support of a proposer.

Please note that the LIBER Executive Board welcomes candidate nominations from libraries in countries in all parts of Europe and from younger candidates.

Completed nominations on the Nomination Form should be returned to the Secretary-General no later than two calendar weeks before the opening of the Meeting of Participants on Thursday 5 July 2018 (i.e. by Thursday 21 June 2018). Nominations should be addressed to: Mr John MacColl, Secretary-General, by email (jam31@st-andrews.ac.uk).

Closing Date for Nominations

The closing date for nominations is **Thursday 21 June 2018**.

Proxy Voting

Any LIBER Library not able to be present at the Meeting of Participants on Thursday 5 July 2018 may delegate its right to vote to another member acting as proxy or to the Chairman acting as proxy. Any LIBER Library intending to delegate its vote should complete the proxy voting form, which is being circulated with the March 2018 Mailing, and will be circulated with the May 2018 Mailing, and return it to the LIBER Office at liber@kb.nl. Please note that to be valid proxy forms must be received by the LIBER Office no later than Wednesday 4 July 2018.

If you have any questions about the appointments at the 2018 Meeting of Participants, or if you would like further information, please contact me at jam31@st-andrews.ac.uk.

Nominations Received:

LIBER has so far received the following nominations.

PRESIDENT

Candidate: Ms Jeannette Frey, BCU Lausanne, Switzerland

Proposer: Kristiina Hormia-Poutanen, National Library of Finland, Finland

VICE-PRESIDENT

Candidate: Mr Julien Roche, University of Lille, France Proposer: Ms Jeannette Frey, BCU Lausanne, Switzerland

BOARD MEMBER

Candidate: Prof. Lars Burman, Uppsala University Library, Sweden Proposer: Mr Wilhelm Widmark, Stockholm University Library, Sweden

John MacColl Secretary-General

May 2018