

LIBER ANNUAL CONTRIBUTION FEE REDUCED ANNUAL CONTRIBUTION FEE: REVIEW

As referred to by the LIBER Treasurer, Dr Van Otegem, in his report at the Meeting of Participants in June 2015, the LIBER Executive Board has recently reviewed the list of countries currently entitled to receive the reduced LIBER annual Contribution Fee in the light of economic progress. The list was last reviewed in 2011.

The list of countries eligible for a reduced annual Contribution Fee from January 2012 to the present is: Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Former Yugoslavic Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine.

As in 2011, the method used in the review was the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) based on Purchasing-Power-Parity (PPP) per capita. It was agreed by the Executive Board that countries with a current GDP based on PPP per capita below a threshold of 21,000 USD should remain on the list of countries eligible for a reduced annual Contribution Fee (currently €245).

As a consequence of the review, the list of eligible countries from January 2016 will be: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine. In the light of their economic progress, Latvia, Lithuania and Russia will leave the list from January 2016, and will pay the normal annual contribution fee (currently €495).

LIBER libraries in countries where the normal annual Contribution Fee will apply from January 2016 have all been written to individually by the LIBER President to explain the position.

The full list of LIBER annual Contribution Fees may be consulted on the LIBER website at:

http://libereurope.eu/liber-annual-contribution-fees/

Matthijs Van Otegem Treasurer November 2015 Stichting LIBER Koninklijke Bibliotheek, P.O. Box 90407, 2509 LK The Hague, The Netherlands. Chamber of Commerce: 27334736