LIBER and other stakeholders welcome European advancements towards an equitable scholarly communication ecosystem

Posted: 23-05-2023 Topics: European Commission Open Access Scholarly Communication

LIBER has joined other public research and innovation actors in Europe in welcoming today’s adoption of the ‘Council conclusions on high-quality, transparent, open, trustworthy, and equitable scholarly publishing’.

The joint response urges EU member states and institutions to continue their efforts towards a high-quality, transparent, open, trustworthy and equitable scholarly communication ecosystem, through stakeholder engagement, constructive dialogue with the public research and innovation sector, and with evidence-based reforms underpinned by the principles of open science.

LIBER, in its drive to enable world class research, is committed to supporting the development of a publicly owned, not-for-profit scholarly communication ecosystem. Advancing scholarly communication is essential in the drive for Openness, which is a key pillar of our 2023-2027 strategy. LIBER is dedicated to fostering a constructive dialogue with policymakers on behalf of our members to help shape the future of scholarly communications. We believe that libraries and the researchers that work within them are critical stakeholders in these discussions.

The joint statement welcomes the Council of the EU’s encouragement of initiatives that align with the objective of developing a not-for-profit scholarly communication ecosystem. It reiterates the signatories’ commitment to activities that further engage their members in shaping the future of scholarly communication. As such, the response reflects LIBER’s drive to advance equitable scholarly communication, as highlighted through our participation in the European projects DIAMAS and Open Research Europe, and other activities such as our Zero Embargo Campaign.

Signatories include the European University Association (EUA), Science Europe, European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities (ALLEA), Association of ERC Grantees (AERG), Marie Curie Alumni Association (MCAA), European Council of Doctoral Candidates and Junior Researchers (Eurodoc), cOAlition S, OPERAS, and French National Research Agency (ANR).

Read the full response.